President Trump: What It Means For The Liberals, Republicans, and Independents Alike

Libtards, a degrading title for liberals who strongly believe in their views. In numerous occasions they’ve been referred to as SJWs, feminazis, etc. I’m one of them, so don’t be surprised if this article is a bit biased- but I am in no means intending to insult or degrade anyone who opposes my views, but I would simply like to express my thoughts on the matter.

reuters-porland-oregon-anti-trump-protest

Photo courtesy of The Independent

It was just a couple of days ago, 3 days to be precise, that the democrat runner Hillary Clinton conceded and gave the position of President of the United States to the man we now call “President Trump”. Riots, backlashes, numerous incidents have occurred since his coronation, and whilst I am highly against his appointment, I do not wish the man any harm. Therefore, I feel as though my fellow liberals are taking things too far with their actions. United States of America is all about unity, diversity, and freedom. However, from the past couple of days, I’ve been unsure about what this truly meant.

Due to recent scandals, both Trump and Hillary have been ostracized by their opposing parties- Clinton with her crooked ways and deleted emails, and Trump with his collection of misogynistic, racist, and xenophobic- boo boos. In short, both have done some pretty terrible things. However, what truly disappointments me is that after Trump’s election, numerous people have come from the dark, and what they have to say are pretty terrifying. It’s the Brexit all over again.

Humans really have progressed; we went from a period of acceptance and freedom, back to hatred and abuse. Why? I’m not so sure myself. Maybe it’s due to our impulsiveness, wanting to express our deepening hatred for a certain focus- and letting it explode at any given moment. Honestly, both parties, democrats and republicans alike, have shown a sense of inhumanity during this time. Republicans expressed their joy for the election of Trump, which I think is still wrong, whilst the Democrats mourned via holding violent protests and expressing their hatred on the matter. Meanwhile, the independents are reaching new levels of pride, acting high and mighty for their ability to deduce the stupidity of both sides. There’s no more humble individuals, just a group of hate filled monsters.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

I’m reminded of a song I heard when I was very young, a song entitled “Where is The Love?” by The Black Eyed Peas. Maybe it’s time this song makes its return, because clearly people need to question themselves, where is the love? People have been so focused on proving themselves right that they’ve let their prides get the best of them, destroying friendships, respects, and sometimes even family. Isn’t it sad?

anti20trump20students20march20to20uic20pavillion_1457737876553_982833_ver1-0_640_360

Photo Courtesy of Fox Chicago

As a democrat, I have had my fair share of hate filled words towards Trump, especially a couple of days ago when he was elected. I’m truly ashamed for it, but I won’t take it back. It was what I had felt during that moment, and I won’t deny that. But they were merely whims, what I saw from others in my Facebook page alone truly frightened me. People have forgotten their sense of humanity, instead letting their hate get the better of them.

I’m done with all the hate, with all the struggles. My despise for Trump’s election will never fade, but I choose to see the best in the situation. I choose to have hope- to see the best in Trump. In truth, this sensation came in earlier than what I had expected, when he began to compliment Hillary, I immediately felt a sense of hope- maybe he won’t be as bad as people think.

Sure, he’s had…”boo boos” before his election, but much like how I believed people can change (such as Clinton), I chose to believe that Trump could possibly change too. Maybe he can be a good leader- not the best mind you, that position belongs to Obama in my eyes, but I think there’s a possibility he may be able to bring unity among the people. But clearly he cannot do that when riots are breaking out- some think Trump will be the one to cause a war, when it is clear the people are the ones setting the war off themselves. Stop letting pride take over you, find your humanity, find hope.

Democrats vs Republicans, who will win?

#WHEREISTHELOVE

Leave a Reply

